Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica — Kyouko x Sayaka 「and I’m home」

Sakura Kyouko (Nonaka Ai) and Miki Sayaka (Kitamura Eri)’s character song, accompanying Vol. 5 of the Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica boxset, called 「and I’m home」.

[EDIT: Updated with the karaoke subs]

It’s a beautiful, beautiful duet… something you should listen to even if you haven’t watched or even (le gasp!) don’t like Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica.  Is it a spoiler if I tell you this song and the lyrics aren’t too much of a spoiler?  At least it’s unspoilerly enough that I don’t mind talking about.

(I’m going to leave this post unprotected, so if you feel like commenting, please make sure it’s spoiler-free.  You know how strongly I feel about giving away spoilers for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica.)

The lyrics transliterated, translated, and colourcoded by yours truly.   And I must admit it was fun exercising my seiyuu fangirl skills to see who was singing what.

I’m thinking of karaoke subbing this song, but… we’ll see.  And am I the only one squeeing at the official art by Ume-sensei?!  I love her art style.  :<

And I can’t stop listening to this song.  x_x  I’ve been playing it non-stop since I first heard it.  @_@

錆び付いた心、
sabitsuita kokoro
What does a heart encrusted with rust see
音もない世界、何を見てるの?
oto mo nai sekai, nani wo miteru no?
in a still and soundless world?
またねを言える顔を探すよ
mata ne wo ieru kao wo sagasu yo
Looking for someone who looks like they can say, “I’ll see you again”,
それを繰り返すだけ
sore wo kurikaesu dake
I only end up repeating this over and over again.
Continue reading